In search of answers…

Home Forums General Discussions In search of answers…

• This topic is empty.

In search of answers…

• CrazyRockwell
      Participant

As an aspiring musician, I find myself alternately inspired and confounded by the legend of Dr. Steel. I’ll find myself binging on his catalog of music and propaganda and certain lyrics will stand out to me. Lyrics like “I can hear your voices beckon mine because you know, yes you know I’m gonna stand”. Lyrics like “Free me: I’ll drag a burning smile across this nation”. Lyrics like “may your dreams never die”.

I think about what I would give in my life to have what he had: a message, a goal, and a devoted audience.

And then, as I’m sure so many of you have endured, comes the nagging “WHY?”

…but let’s not get too deep into that for now.

I come to you asking humbly if there is a place where one such as myself can read his retirement letter. I’m exhausted from the speculation… and I know that I can’t expect an explicit explanation, but I need some kind of closure if I’m to accept the disappearance of one who’s work has impacted me so deeply.

Even as I make this request, I fear it will be rejected: if those who were privileged enough to read it first hand wanted to share it, then I imagine I would have found it at some point in the past (almost) three years. Still, I have to ask.

Furthermore, there’s another small bit of lore that I’ve been trying to rediscover: I recall shortly after his retirement, finding on youtube an amateur video of one Toy Soldier or another playing a bittersweet song on his acoustic guitar. The song asked “Who is Doctor Steel”, and if I remember correctly, the final verse answers that “You and I are Doctor Steel”… or something like that. I’d like very much to hear that song again.

Sincerely,

Crazy Rockwell

• Sgt. Dutch
      Participant

Greetings CrazyRockwell and welcome to the Army of Toy Soldiers.